Skip to content

Favorites of 2011

December 30, 2011

It’s been a very good year, and not easy to limit a selection of favorites to an arbitrary number (especially as I look through my archives and see good stuff I still haven’t processed). But here are twelve front runners. We’ll begin with what is probably my absolute favorite of the year, and also the only one I haven’t yet blogged, an evening storm and wildflowers in Nevada’s Schell Creek Range:

And the others…. Rio Puerco Sunset (Sandoval County, New Mexico):

Notch Peak Spotlight (Utah west desert):

My trip on the Illinois River in Oregon is almost its own category and it’s hard to pick favorites. But these two distill the experience pretty well, and I’m certainly fond of them. Klondike Creek meets the Illinois:

Greenwall Rapid:

Dawn over the Pahsimeroi Valley (Lost River Range, Idaho):

Syringa and River (Middle fork of the Salmon, Idaho):

Middle Fork Rainbow (Middle fork of the Salmon, Idaho):

Western Redcedar (Selway River, Idaho):

Baker Cirque Dawn (Great Basin National Park, Nevada):

Bighorns and Cliff (Pecos Wilderness, New Mexico):

December Eclipse (Sandoval County, New Mexico):

And just for fun, here are the top searches which found Crest, Cliff and Canyon in 2011:

  • pecos wilderness
  • geology of dinosaur national monument
  • the photographers ephemeris
  • gospel hump wilderness (guess I need to take some more pictures up there, considering I have all of one)
  • dagger falls
  • san juan range autumn
  • gila wilderness
  • lodore canyon
  • october dawn (it’s a damn good poem!)
  • gila river rafting

All worthy subjects. But here, on the other hand, are some searches for which I was surely a great disappointment:

  • securing an impaled object (I doubt they meant a 14-foot raft.)
  • burnt and impaled (I’m hoping to avoid blogging this in 2012 as well.)
  • downtown santa fe, nm (Lousy with photographers [or expensive cameras, anyway], but not really my thing unless it’s flash flooding.)
  • challenging rivers in illinois (My condolences. Come to Oregon!)
  • dagger falls naked (I don’t recommend it.)
  • peoplez shootin, folkz dyin (I do hang out in some pretty redneck areas.)
  • schots who hump sheep (Oh dear. There would be a Sheep Creek in the Gospel Hump, wouldn’t there?)
  • why am i here?

Okay, anyone who’s read this far down deserves a better note to end on. Here’s another personal favorite that I haven’t yet blogged, from the Ruby Mountains in Nevada:

23 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2011 8:41 am

    Great set from 2011 Jackson! I particularly like (and am jealous :) ) of the Idaho wilderness images you have. My favorite is of the Pahsimeroi valley but then again I’m biased…

  2. January 1, 2012 9:36 am

    You had an incredible year, Jackson! Its very difficult for me to choose a favorite, but your Schell Creek Range image is magnificent, and I still like your image of Notch Peak…

    Looking forward to seeing your unblogged work and new work in 2012…

  3. January 4, 2012 10:45 pm

    These are all amazing, and quite varied. I agree with your top choice; that image takes my breath away. Yes, I’m partial to flowers, but really the overall composition is fantastic.

    • January 5, 2012 7:34 am

      Thanks for dropping by Anna! Nice to see another Magdalenean on here!

  4. January 5, 2012 8:54 am

    Great collection – a body of work that any photographer would be proud of! Syringa made my jaw drop. Wow!

    • January 5, 2012 2:23 pm

      Thanks Dave, means a lot coming from you. I’m glad you like Syringa, that one keeps growing on me. I think it may capture the je ne sais quoi of the Middle Fork as well as I’ve ever managed.

  5. January 10, 2012 9:35 pm

    Jackson,

    Some very nice work here. It’s so nice to see some new work that isn’t of the well-known icons (and also outside of Colorado or southern Utah!). I’m really liking the Schell Creek Range and the Ruby Mountains images; they remind me (in a good way, I hope you’ll take it) of some of Claude Fiddler’s work in his book “A Vast and Ancient Wilderness” which, while good, could have gone deeper into the Basin and Range.

    The Notch Peak, syringa, and Lost River Range images more than hold their own, too; I appreciate your restraint in not taking them out to velvia levels or beyond. It’s easy to get caught up in artistic license and not let the landscape speak for itself.

    • January 16, 2012 5:26 pm

      Thanks Mark! I’m lucky to have spent a pretty good amount of time in the Great Basin over the years, but I’ve only just scratched the surface.

  6. January 11, 2012 2:43 am

    I really like your work, Jackson. Like my father’s photography, yours may not get as much recognition because you resist the temptation to photograph over-dramatic solely eye catching yet repetitiously hollow subjects or to hop them up in post-processing. In my estimation you have a very good eye and I enjoy the subtle beauty found in capturing nature as it is, rather than as you want it to be. As my father used to say, “Nature is dramatic enough.” My favorites of this excellent set are the Schell Creek Range, Selway River and Lost River Range. Nevada is not easy to photograph and you have done very well.

    • January 16, 2012 5:29 pm

      Very kind words, David, thank you! I actually often worry whether I’ve perhaps gone a little far in post-processing. I’m all for getting the most out of a digital file, but I have no interest in being hyper-realistic with my photography: your father was absolutely right, there’s no need. And I’m already itching for more time in Nevada, though it may be a while.

  7. January 15, 2012 1:55 pm

    Great collection… looks like a fun year! Your Pahsimeroi Valley shot is so incredible… drool…

    • January 16, 2012 5:30 pm

      Thanks Jack! The Lost Rivers aren’t quite the Andes, but they’re a lot closer!

  8. Kent Mearig permalink
    January 23, 2012 12:52 am

    Wow! Besides the important stuff in your life, it looks as though you also had an amazing year photographically. This next one will be really fun for your family, so you’ll probably be again doubly blessed.

  9. June 11, 2012 2:44 pm

    Nice group of photographs (Timber Creek Flowers, especially because you can almost smell the rain!)

Trackbacks

  1. Best Photos of 2011 by JMG-Galleries Blog Readers » JMG-Galleries – Jim M. Goldstein Photography
  2. 289 “Best Photos of 2011″ Blog Posts - Digital Photo Help
  3. 289 “Best Photos of 2011″ Blog Posts | Benjamin Hall
  4. Jim Goldstein Does It Again « ©jw fujimagari blog
  5. Top photos of 2011 | Alaska Photography
  6. 289 “Best Photos of 2011″ Blog Posts | Gallery Photos, Photography and Camera
  7. Thank you Jim Goldstein! | Timages Gallery Photo Blog
  8. Best Photos of 2011 — the list | Chuq Von Rospach, Photographer and Author

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

