Autumn Rainbow

Fall color season is well and truly done, and I’ve settled on my entries for the Rocky Mountain Nature Photographers fall color contest (scroll down to see entries). That decision frees me up to show some of my runners-up.

Big Tesuque Basin up above Santa Fe, between the town and the ski area, has what may well be New Mexico’s largest aspen groves. It’s a glorious place. But it’s somewhat lacking in cliffs, peaks, streams and such, the kind of elements that bring structure to a photo full of colored leaves. For that reason, I don’t go up there much for shooting. But I was glad I did on this evening: light and weather trump topography anytime they please!

Autumn rainbow in Tesuque Basin, Sangre de Cristo Mountains, New Mexico

One thought on “Autumn Rainbow

Leave a Reply

