Sunday Night Links 2-20-2011

It’s been a while since I’ve done a links post, but here’s a selection of photography that’s jumped out at me in the last couple months. The truth is, I come across so many excellent photographs, I couldn’t possibly list them all. There’s an awful lot of talent and creativity out there!

  • Holland is not exactly a landscape photographer’s paradise, and to make something of it requires a really unique vision. Check out some work by Dutch photographer Gerco de Ruijter. Some of these shots are about as abstracted as a landscape can get.
  • Desert Art by Marc Adamus: brings to mind the old quotation (attribution escapes me) about how Medieval philosophers examined the earth expecting to find a world full of marvels and wonders, and they were not disappointed.
  • Ice, Bubbles and Frost by Nick Bristol: contrasting texture and pattern, perfectly seen and captured.
  • Burr Trail Cottonwoods by Emmanuel Coupe. When one finds beautiful fall colors, the initial impulse is always to put them front and center. But using autumn leaves as a ground for another subject can make a much deeper image.
  • Sunset Avalanche, Half Dome by G. Dan Mitchell: As they say, sometimes I’d rather be lucky than good! Half Dome has got to be high on the list of world’s most photographed subjects, but with some luck it’s still possible to make a unique image of it. Of course, you’d better be good as well if you hope to take advantage of this kind of luck.
  • The Rift by Floris van Breugel. Again, it is possible to make unique images at much-photographed locations. I can hardly believe I haven’t seen this comp before. Floris makes it look inevitable, but such things are never obvious until after the fact.
  • Ancient Dunes by Anil Rao: perfection in subtlety, and I would have walked right by it. When I start seeing compositions like this, I’ll know I’m really making progress.
  • On a very different note, here’s a fascinating photo essay on the ruins of Detroit. A lot like looking at Pompeii, but no natural disasters were required. Sic transit gloria, I suppose.
  • Finally, two terrific grand landscapes from my ancestral homeland, by Spanish photographer Rafael Rojas: Wild Scotland and Torridonean Drama. Make sure you look at the large versions. Ahhh, atavistic yearning: must get there someday!
One thought on “Sunday Night Links 2-20-2011

  1. Thanks for the links, Jackson! These are all fantastic, and you’ve introduced me to some new photographers. Some, like Floris van Bruegel and Rafael Rojas, I’ve followed for a while (and am continually inspired by), but many of the others are completely new to me.

    Cheers,
    Greg

Leave a Reply

