Favorites of 2015

Happy New Year! This last one was a little strange, a little surprising, and most of my favorite outings and images last year were not quite what I might have expected or planned. I particularly notice that living on the edge of the Great Basin and Mojave deserts has shifted my productive season, and last year I found winter and spring to be more inspirational and motivating than summer or fall. I generally stayed local in eastern California and southwestern Nevada, though I did take an excellent trip with Greg Russell into the remote heart of Nevada and had a remarkably fiery trip to Idaho. I have numberless ideas for projects in 2016, though doubtless my best work will likely again take a form I do not now expect.

Without further ado, here are some my personal favorites from the year past.

January: Twilight in the Pinto Valley Wilderness, Clark County Nevada.

Pinto Valley Twilight

February: Badlands under the White Mountains, Esmeralda County, Nevada.

Badlands in Shadow

February: Snow squall over Westgard Pass, Deep Springs Valley, California.

Westgard Squall

March: Salt Creek pupfish (Cyprinodon salinus), the biological wonder of Death Valley.

Pupfish Ripples

April: Colorful badlands, Esmeralda County, Nevada.

Emigrant Palette

April: Elizabeth Stewart of Lone Pine, California roping a calf at our annual branding at Deep Springs.

May: Sunrise light shines up the South Twin River canyon, Arc Dome Wilderness, Toiyabe Range, Nevada.

South Twin Spotlight

May: Polished granite canyon, Toiyabe Range, Nevada.

McCloud Creek Cleft

May: Maze of granite, Toiyabe Range, Nevada.

Wild Granite Morning

June: Unexpected late rains in May and June brought us an amazing desert wildflower bloom in Deep Springs Valley. I have a ton of satisfactory flower shots to choose from, but I especially like this juxtaposition of globe mallow and indigo bush.

Indigo and Mallow

July: Memory of Rain – dried raindrops in alluvial sand, Mono County, California.

Memory of Rain

August: Granite stripes looking towards Deep Springs Lake, California.

Granite Stripes

August: Pacific yew, near the Salmon River, Idaho.

Yew Detail

August: Tepee Springs Fire at night above the Salmon River, Idaho.

Fire and Water

October: Lingering autumn leaves, Big Pine Creek, Sierra Nevada, California.

Dendritic Autumn

December: Tucki Mountain reflected in Salt Creek, Death Valley, California.

Tucki Reflection

Here’s to a happy and prosperous 2016 for all! Thank you to all my readers and well-wishers (not to mention clients! Big thanks to you folks!). It means a lot to me that people enjoy and appreciate my work, and I hope I offer a unique perspective on some of the more seldom-seen country of the American West.

25 thoughts on “Favorites of 2015

  1. Great shots as always Jackson. I always feel like a total neophyte when I see your stuff. The image of the fire along the Salmon is staggering, but my favorites are the Toiyabes. It is hard to find great images of the high Nevada ranges and you continue to take fantastic shots. Keep them coming!

  2. Wow, what a year, Jackson. This is a great collection from the lonely corners of the west, places that you seem so adept at hunting out and photographing. One thing I notice about these photos (and all of your work) is that it’s always very personal, from places that are meaningful to you. It’s hard to pick a single favorite, but I’ve always liked “memory of rain”, and your images from the forest fire this summer are surely memorable to you, just as they’ve stuck in my own head.

    Here’s to a great 2016!
    Greg

    • Thanks Greg! You haven’t seen it before because it actually gave me a lot of trouble. Picking that comp out of other promising ones took me a while, and then I had several false starts with the processing. It took time to grow on me for some reason, but I’m really liking it as well.

  3. Quite a fine crop, Jackson. From the look of them, I am betting that they are the cream but there are many more that could have taken their places…except maybe for the Colorful Badlands. That is one awesome image.
    I agree with your view that often our best work is unplanned. What we expect can happen, and preparation breeds luck, but many times we don’t know what’s coming and our response produces our best.
    Best for 2016, Jackson.

    • Thanks, Suzy! We missed you, though I suspect you were just as happy taking this year off. I know I’d prefer to experience Idaho’s fire season vicariously in the future.

  4. Absolutely breathtaking collection. Simplicity, texture, lighting, mood–all is perfection! If I had to pick favorites (which is difficult!) I’d say, April and June. April is particularly interesting, since I didn’t know there were Nevada badlands–the association for me is always South Dakota.

  5. Hey Jackson – You probably don’t realize this, but I have commented a lot on your photos. Pretty much every one. In my head. They usually run something like “That is spectacular”, “NICE”, “Wow”, or some variation of those comments. This collection finally made me let you now how much I appreciate checking in here and seeing what light and form your eyes have found for you to capture with your camera. Thanks for sharing with us. I am looking forward to seeing what you find this year.

  6. This is a fantastic collection of photographs, Jackson. I agree with Greg’s comments about the personal nature of this photo collection shining through really well. My favorites – the first one (such a beautiful scene and composition), the Pacific yew, and the maze of granite.

Leave a Reply

