Happy Spring!

Poppy Haze

Though snow is still coming in the Sierra, winter is done and Easter is here, so I guess I’m reconciled to the fact that it’s now spring! We enjoyed these early fruits of California’s wet season a few weeks ago down south. As you read this, we’re on our way to the coast for some more seasonal and classic California scenery.

Poppy_Field_900px

Of course, this year’s wildflowers have been the subject of enormous hype. While I was taking some of these photos, surrounded by beautiful flowers stretching over the rolling hills into the distance, I heard a woman next to me on her cell: “They said it was epic here, but this is NOT epic, it’s going to rain, the poppies are closing and I can’t believe I drove hours for this!” There’s no pleasing some people, I guess!

Poppies in Grass

Poppy Pair

Wishing a joyous spring to all, and just a few more storms in the mountains…..

Purple and Orange

3 thoughts on “Happy Spring!

  1. Poppies!!! Nothing says spring to a Californian like these cheerful seasonal messengers, and I love your fresh take on them–lovely detail.

Leave a Reply

